Game, Set then Match.

 

values image

 

Sitting down on a warm Friday night writing a blog which I haven’t done for a few weeks – I’m excited, lets hope for some decent content.

Everyone in life at some stage wants to be someone they see, maybe it’s someone in their actual ‘real life’ or maybe its a sports star or a celebrity – whoever. We’re in Wimbledon season and who else is there greater than Roger Federer to ever grace Centre Court? (I’ll let you debate that privately). I love Wimbledon and in mind I am a world class tennis player, in practice I’m horrific, I’m still serving underarm. If I could transport myself to be Mr Federer I probably wouldn’t mind, but we want to bypass the years of practice it took him to get there. He took up tennis at the age of 8, we don’t want the hard work, we just want to get somewhere now. This is why comparison doesn’t work. You can’t look at what someone’s final destination is and think ‘if we do the same thing we’ll be able to get there as well’. You can’t just replicate what they are doing and expect it will work the same for you. It’s like we want to win the ‘Match’ without having to go through the ‘Game, Set…..’ –

 

 

Have you ever tried to recreate something? I don’t think I can ever think of something amazing, that I then tried to recreate and got the same results.

 

Here’s the crunch point – put to the back of your mind strategies and outcomes, we’re all different in life. Don’t get busy mimicking strategies or trying to take the ‘direct’ route to other peoples outcomes, instead prioritise values and culture. Our values will make the change to society, our values will be the start of our outcomes, our values will shape those strategies. Our culture sets a great atmosphere for change.

So maybe as we head into this summer, we can think of values and culture and let them shape our strategies which will result in great outcomes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

